First Year Experience (FYE) Student Advisory Council

The FYE Student Advisory Council is charged with providing input and feedback regarding transitional and academic support programs for first-year students. The council will discuss programs provided to first-year students that are supported by the New Student Enrollment & Orientation Fee (NSEOF) and decide if the proposed rate increases are justified. These programs include Advising & Orientation, Dawg Daze, First-year Interest Groups, Commuter & Transfer Commons, and Academic Support Programs (CLUE/Tutor-Mentor Program). The council will also discuss transitional issues first-year students face as they join the University of Washington community. 

The council will gather in six times throughout winter and spring quarter in Mary Gates Hall 224. 

Thank you to our  2018-2019 FYE Student Advisory Council Members: 

Position Name  Email
Academic Support Programs Elizabeth Sather ems1997@uw.edu
ASUW: Board of Directors Gabrielle Rivera/Andrew Tejero asuwbdcr@uw.edu/ asuwbdsp@uw.edu
ASUW: Senate  Noelani Arreola-Anduha reesen2@uw.edu
First Year Programs Lily Peterson lilyp2@uw.edu
Interfraternity Council Vacant  Vacant 
Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity: SAB Mariela Galvan galvan18@uw.edu
Panhellenic Association Alandra Gonzalez Alandraeg@gmail.com
Residential Community Student Association Ian Yu rcsacomm@uw.edu
At-Large: Freshman  Student Samantha Freeman stf4@uw.edu
At-Large: Transfer Student Bridget Wittke bwittke@uw.edu
At-Large: Transfer Student Angela Wong awong76@uw.edu
At-Large: International Student Angel Lin lint32@uw.edu
At-Large: RSO Riley Brown rbrown12@uw.edu
At-Large: Uaa Advising  Alexa Yadama  ayadama@uw.edu
At-Large: OWRC  Summer Si Lo  kawaiichibi13@gmail.com

If you have additional questions please contact LeAnne Wiles, ljwiles@uw.edu

  • Council Information & Minutes

    The council will discuss programs provided to first-year students that are supported by the New Student Enrollment & Orientation Fee (NSEOF) and decide if the proposed rate increases are justified. These programs include: Advising & Orientation, Dawg Daze, First-year Interest Groups, Commuter & Transfer Commons, and Academic Support Programs (CLUE/Tutor Mentor Program).

    Meetings will are held weeks 2, 4, and 6 of winter and spring quarter. The Council will have representatives from various student organizations along with first year students at large. View the invitation letter for student organizations.

    Complete the interest form for the 2018-19 FYE Advisory Council.   

    Meeting minutes will be posted in the following folder.

  • Meeting Dates

    2018-2019 Meeting Times and Location: 

    The council will gather six times throughout the Winter and Spring quarter. Members are asked to attend all council meetings held on the following dates in Mary Gates Hall (MGH):

    • WIN (Wk 2) Tuesday, January 15th  3:30 - 4:45 pm- MGH 224
    • WIN (Wk 4) Tuesday, January 29th  3:30 - 4:45 pm - MGH 224
    • WIN (Wk 6) Tuesday, February 12th 3:30 - 4:45 pm - MGH 120
    • WIN (WK 8) Tuesday, February 26th 3:30 - 4:45 pm - MGH 224
    • SPR (Wk 2) Friday, April 12th  3:30 - 4:45 pm - MGH 173R
    • SPR (Wk 3) Friday, April 19th 3:30 - 4:45 pm - MGH 173R
    • SPR (Wk 5) Friday, May 3rd   3:30 - 4:45 pm - MGH 120

     

  • Former Council Members

     Many thanks to our 2017-2018 FYE Student Advisory Council Members: 

     

    Position Name  Email
    Residential Community Student Association Karis Kim rcsapres@uw.edu
    Panhellenic Kelsey Hewson uwpanhelleniccr@gmail.com
    Interfraternity Council Vacant Vacant
    Academic Support Programs Owen Vickrey ovick@uw.edu
    ASUW: Board of Directors Anna Johnson asuwbdsp@uw.edu
    ASUW: Senate  Melia Stewart melia23@uw.edu
    Office of Minority Affairs: SAB Ritika Jain rjain314@uw.edu
    RSO At- Large  Jade Nguyen Jaden07@uw.edu
    At-Large Joely Nguyen anhng08@uw.edu
    At-Large Angela Wong awong76@uw.edu
    At-Large Nicole Dowds ndowds51@uw.edu
    At-Large Jane Kim jiyunkim@uw.edu
    At-Large Macey Schallert mschall@uw.edu
    Transfer Student At-Large Bridget Wittke bwittke@uw.edu
    Transfer Student At-Large Hiep Nguyen hiepqn@uw.edu
    Transfer Student At-Large David Alvarez davidalv@uw.edu

    Summary of the 2017-2018 FYE Advisory council minutes. 

     

    Many thanks to our 2016-2017 FYE Student Advisory Council Members: 

    Position Name  Email
    Residential Community Student Association Halsey Stultz  stultzh@uw.edu
    Panhellenic - New Members Grace Woodard greekmemdev@gmail.com
    Panhellenic Ellen Short  uwpanhelleniccr@gmail.com
    ASUW: Board of Directors Vivian Oguejiofor vivianog@uw.edu
    ASUW: Senate  Almodine Thompson almodine@uw.edu
    Office of Minority Affairs: SAB Ritika Jain rjain314@uw.edu
    Interfraternity Council  Ian O-Keefe iokeefe@uw.edu
    At-Large Transfer Student  Daniel Phung dani1402@uw.edu
    At- Large  Angel Chen angelc34@uw.edu
    At- Large Thao Tang thao36@uw.edu
    At- Large Erin Nguy erinnguy@uw.edu

    Summary of the 2016-2017 FYE Advisory council including links to minutes for each meeting. 

×
×